This brief exercise shows an opening for the same story from two points of view.
#1.
I was just sitting in the cafe having a cup of tea–yes, tea in a coffee shop–when in walked the most handsome man I’d ever seen. Well, not handsome in the classical sense, but there was something that he exuded. Maybe it was his self-confidence and the twinkle in his eye. He looked over at me, and I couldn’t help but smile and my heart went boom. I felt myself blush and I quickly looked away. He ordered his coffee and came over and sat with me. Me! Why me? I wasn’t the most attractive person in the coffee shop.
“Hi Amanda.”
Huh. I know you?
“Hi.” I pause. My brain is turning like a hamster wheel with the hamster on steroids. “Um, do I know you?”
“No, not really. We both used to work at Dunforth, Radley, and Elkstrom. I was articling at the time. You were working for Dan Buttworth, one of the partners. I was too busy and too shy in those days to ever talk to you.”
Oh my, a lawyer, I think. This is getting better by the minute.
“Gosh, I’m sorry I don’t remember you.” God, I wish remembered. I mentally kicked myself in the arse. I don’t know what else to say.

#2.
He walked into the cafe for his after-lunch coffee. As he waited for his coffee, he looked around the coffee shop. It wasn’t busy for this time of day. There was a woman sitting off to one side having tea–yes, tea in a coffee shop!

Then he did a double take. It was Amanda. Leave it to her to go against the grain and have tea in a coffee shop.

He couldn’t help but smile. Amanda. He hadn’t seen her for nearly seven years. Where did the time go. He remembered seeing her at Dunforth, Radley, and Elkstrom when he was an articling student. He was always too shy in those days to approach a woman. He kicked his ass many times since for not doing anything, but then he was really busy trying to get his career off the ground.

He paid for his coffee and decided it was time to say hello.

2 thoughts on “Everything Went Haywire

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

