Poetry prompt from http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/
As the Great War drew to a close, a young Englishwoman wrote wearily in her diary, By the end of 1916, every boy I had ever danced with was dead.


Image by kartikay.sahay via Flickr

I close my diary
And stare out the window
Sadness fills me
As I think of the boys
Boys that made me happy
Even for a moment
Their eyes
Their smiles
Their touch
They’ve laid down their guns
They’ve laid down their lives
They sacrificed for me
They sacrificed themselves
I will dance for them always
But never quite the same
***

20 thoughts on “Never the same

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

