Flash fiction: 100 words
This story was inspired by a brief conversation I overhead in the grocery store today. The Dad was so proud. “Triumph” was actually the word he used. It made me smile.


“What’s the matter, son?”
“Dad, I don’t wanna play hockey. I can’t skate, and everyone’s gonna make fun.”
“They made fun of your older brother — at first. Now look at him. I thought you liked hockey.”
“I do.”
“Would you at least give it a try? You never know. You could be Stanley Cup champion one day .”
Sigh. “Okay, I’ll try.” Hockey dreams flickered in his head. Maybe I can.
Joey tried once.
It sucked.
He tried twice.
It was a bit better.
He tried three times.
His eyes shone with an amazing look of triumph.
“I did it!”

***

6 thoughts on “A boy’s dreams

  1. You really ought to submit this to the poetry site Air Poetry, this would be so PERFECT for them, this is exactly what the woman who runs the site is looking for, poetry made from snatches of conversations that people have overheard! Oh, please submit this to her, I am sure that she would publish it on her site, and you could get a lot more exposure for your writing that way! I had a very similar piece published on the Air Poetry site a while back, which I also overheard at my local grocery store, here it is:

    http://airpoetry.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/dinner-at-the-grocery-store-by-scriptor-obscura/

    And here is a link to the Air Poetry site here on WordPress, which I sincerely endorse. It is run by a very nice woman called Patty Mooney:

    http://airpoetry.com/

    Please submit this, you would be so proud to see it on the website there, even if you don’t get any money or prizes for it, just recognition and praise!

    😀 😀 😀 😀

    1. I will definitely look into this. I wrote this as a 100-word flash fiction piece, Maybe I could rework it a bit to be a bit more appropriate as a free-verse poem.
      Thanks for the info!

  2. Excellent way to draw inspiration. I’m really liking how you have a mix of vibes in your poetry…sadness and happiness and places in-between.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

