100-word Flash Fiction. #FridayFictioneers
(http://susielindau.com/2012/01/17/photo-prompt-for-100-word-flash-friday-fictioneers/)


“You okay, sir?”
Isaac slowly opened his eyes and looked around—and up, way up.
“Am I on a ship?” He peered at the sails and masts overhead.
“It’s an office building.”
“Never seen a buildin’ with sails.”
“Twenty-first century architecture,” the man said proudly.
The last thing Isaac remembered he was plowing the back field behind his draft horse. Abraham Lincoln recently married Mary Todd, so he’d heard.
“Crossed the Atlantic with people, animals, and cargo on a ship that wasn’t near this big. What do ya see from those crows nests?”
“Progress.”
“Waste o’ good farmland, you mean.”
***

22 thoughts on “Progress?

  1. Quite a profound little story, Caerlynn. Taking the nautical inspiration of the architecture back to its source and taking us back to a time when everything was not symbolic, but real. There might be quibbles, but I appreciate, and approve, that you didn’t waste time trying to explain why this was happening. Very good.

    1. Thanks, Susie! I originally had a 167-word story. Took some creativity to pare it down to 100 and still have it make some kind of sense. I liked the challenge of that!

  2. Hi Caerlynn, and yes, a lot of good farmland has been wasted. Time travel stories, seem to be well, timeless. We just can’t seem to get enough of them, from H.G.Wells The Time Machine to the recent The Time Traveler’s Wife. You made good use of the genre. Good storytelling.
    Here’s mine: http://bridges are for burning.wordpress.com/

  3. Oh my! So much to say about this piece. I love the time travel aspect. I often imagine what would happen if I brought Henry Ford forward to present time. What would he think? But…the “waste o’ good farmland”…don’t get me started on that. My great-grandparent’s farmland was plowed under to build a strip mall…progress…pshhhh. Great story. Thanks for posting!

    1. I know! Same thing is happening here with prime agricultural land. Very frustrating. Probably why I like to paint nature/country/farm-scapes… I feel like I’m preserving it in some small way.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

