Who will remember?

Poetry prompt from http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/
Keepsakes like a breath.


It isn’t worth much
But that’s okay.
It’s worn and repaired
And that’s okay.
It was given to you
On your wedding day.
Then a gift from you
For four generations.
We treasured this memory
A reminder of you.
I met you only once or twice.
I barely remember you
But I picture your face.
I have no successor
To pass it to.
What happens now
To this precious memento.
It sits in my cupboard
Alone and forlorn.
It means so much
But my heart is torn.
Where will it go
When I am no more.
***

13 thoughts on “Who will remember?”

  1. Yes, it’s rather sad, and scary, to think where some of our precious treasures and heirlooms might end up.
    Best of luck. Hopefully, we have lots of time to think about it yet! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the ‘like’ on my poetry site. Your poem “Who Will Remember” struck a cord with me. I can still hear it rattling about my head. As researcher and keeper for the genealogy of four six surnames, my ancestors, their stories and their pictures are a treasured possession going all the way back to 1141 SD.There is no one to leave the legacy. It saddens me to come to the realization that the current generations do not care about such mundane things as, who the are. I enjoyed your devotion to the heirloom, keep it close and love the strength it can give you.
    Regards,
    Donald

    1. It’s a shame isn’t it that the younger generation doesn’t seem to care about these thing. I think that sometimes it takes getting older and having kids of their own.

    2. My grandson is relying on me to fill in a lot of the detail on the family history he is constructing, and I know of other young ones really interested in genealogy. As regards the keepsakes, I feel sorry for whoever has to clear out our attic and my office after we’ve gone!

  3. I’ve been wanting to enter the culling phase. Don’t know why, things personal to us don’t mean very much when we’re gone.

    1. There comes a time when you need to cull, to realize that stuff is just stuff. Keep only what (and who) you truly love and really need.
      Key word: Minimize!
      Key mantra: “It’s just stuff!”

  4. I think of these keepsakes being important because of the meaning they have to Us…connecting with someone or something in the past, and over the span of time…thanks for visiting and “liking” my post.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

