A matter of perspective

100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #28

from Julia’s Place
Prompt: Wednesday

 

 


Chad and Lacey had been hiking for four hours on Mount Woebegone, when the clouds broke loose a torrent of rain. Within seconds they were drenched and chilled. Chad grabbed Lacey’s hand and ran beneath a towering spruce tree.
Suddenly he started laughing.
“What the hell’s so funny.”
“Look where we are.”
“We’re under a freakin’ tree getting drenched.”
“What else?”
“I dunno! We have another four flippin’ hours to get back to the car.” Lacey was in no mood for games.
“No. It’s Wednesday.”
“What?”
“Wednesday, the hump! It’s all down hill from here.”
“Oh, yippee.” Damned optimist.

***

27 thoughts on “A matter of perspective”

  1. I knew that name sounded familiar! I have been here before. 🙂 I like the story and photo. It reminded me of a weekend spent in Prescott last summer. We were hiking on Mingus Mountain and out of the blue came the rain and the hail. The four of us (me, husband and kids) stood under a tree, made a run for it, and stood under another tree, made a run for it…I thought it was great. I was laughing when I wasn’t shivering and thinking what a great memory we were making. The others, not so much. But now they laugh. Thanks for bringing it back to me!

    1. I love it that it reminds you of something personal. It`s the same with paintings. I love it when people look at one of my paintings and it reminds them of something or somewhere. It’s such a good feeling.

  2. I’m sure I’ve already left a comment but just in case – this is the beauty of this challenge that is slowly making it’s way around the world – we find out about all the different sayings. I have found out about The Hump from this week’s so can see the humour in this piece!

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

