Prompt 100 WCGU: …but I turned it off…
100 word challenge


Cautiously, I belly crawled toward the child. She writhed in the dirt whimpering pitifully.

Enemy chain mail jangled, closing in. I readied my sword, but empty hands indicated no weapons. He pointed to the girl. I rose to my hands and knees, my fear moderately diminished.

She was battered and bleeding profusely from a mangled ankle. We cleaned her wounds and bound the stump of her leg.

He carried her into the forest, looking back once.

In those fleeting moments my compassion for one individual โ€” no, two โ€” crested, but I turned if off and returned to my column to prepare.

***

 

12 thoughts on “In the midst of battle

  1. I like those of you that used the concept of turning something within ourselves off.Also want to know more of this story! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks. I did want to come up with something a bit different, so I’m glad you liked the story. Thanks for visiting!

  2. Dear Caeerlynn,

    This was a well realized piece. Good job all around.

    Now, since we’re here toghether and you just posted this piece I want to broach a subject that may pique your curiosity. I was reading your post for a third time and noticed the words ‘but I turned it off’ in the conclusion and thought to myself that those words are very 20th/21st century choices. Tried to think of equivalent uses in the time of infantry battles with swords and armor. Came up with a tapped keg, such as would be used for wine or spirits, perhaps water, but little else. Even those would most often be just stoppered by corks or a bung of sorts. When did valves come into common or widespread usage? I’ll be researching that. Wondered if I should say anything and was swayed by my mind’s delving into possibilities that would give the piece a more archaic feel, should that be something that that would appeal to you as a creator of worlds and the characters that inhabit them. (Definitely not a criticism. More a note about my stream of consciousness while there in the field with your soldier.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. Very interesting, Doug. Obviously, I never thought of that.
      I originally pictured and set the scene in an early 20th century war. Then I changed it because women and children more often followed armies in earlier times. Perhaps I went back too far and have blown the authenticity of the words.
      Anyway, I do appreciate the food for thought. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      And now Iโ€™m racking my brain to think of something that one might turn on or off in those days. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Dear Caerlynn,

        Fires were damped down or banked; candles snuffed. I honestly don’t think many people would have noticed the choice of words because the thought behind them is almost universal now. From a writer’s perspective, though, the question gets interesting, doesn’t it. Have you come up with anything that got ‘turned off’ back in those days?

        Aloha,

        Doug

  3. Lovely interpretation of the prompt! The imagery of the battlefield is very vivid. What I especially like about this piece is that there is no dialogue spoken, but the intentions and understandings are clear between the would-be combatants. It’s such a lonely, scary moment, made a little bit more palatable by the soldier’s compassion.

    Well done!

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

