Riddles

Prompt 100 WCGU: …the red box…
100-word challenge


The mirror shattered, so it seemed, into a million glittering shards as Tara crossed through. She had to return one last time.

The clamor in her ears was deafening.

And the light — whiter than anything she’d ever seen.

She grasped the red box tightly under her arm. It had to arrive safely with her on the other side. This was their last chance. They must succeed. Using the engravings on the key, Isaiah could solve the riddles in the ancient ballad they’d discovered in the cavern.

That parchment held the answers to their dark family secret — seven centuries of torment.

***

21 thoughts on “Riddles”

  1. This is the first time I’ve read your entries for 100WCGU and I wonder if you continue your story each week through the prompts?
    Ah now that would be a challenge.
    I love how your piece seems straight out of the middle of a huge tome – brilliant!

  2. I really want to know what’s on the other side of that mirror and what could have caused seven centuries of torment. (You and I both picked the same name for our character)

  3. Since many comments were similar for this piece, I’ll respond to you all at one time. I’m really happy to see so many people give such great feedback and I’m honored that you take the time to read my posts. This story struck a chord with me, and your responses have inspired me to think more about expanding it. So on the weekend, I started pondering plots and characters and such… we’ll see what happens. Thank you all! 🙂

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

