Better days

100-word Flash Fiction. #FridayFictioneers
A story inspired by this photo provided by Madison Woods.

Time for a little fun again! I hope you enjoy my story.


Every day I sit here, behind this barbwire fence, watching the people haying, plowing, running their ATVs. I was useful once. People drove me. I got loaded. I had fun!

“Ooohhh, that tickles.”

Darned mice are in my breather again. My eyes are foggy from all the hay chaff. My seat is lacerated. My sneakers are worn off, and last winter the wind blew through the holes in my coat so bad that my crankshaft froze stiff.

And I’m lonely.

I was! Someone was here yesterday. I think I’m going to a spa; I heard the words “repair” and “revitalize”!

***

24 thoughts on “Better days”

    1. No, I suspect a little paint, a little body fill, little mechanic work, and a lot of TLC. Thanks for dropping by!

  1. Dear Caerlynn,

    Forgive me, but this is not a story I’d expect from a woman. Having said that, and having read it again I must say that this is a story that could only have been written by a woman. Deux ex Machina in a way, but not. I loved this story. My favorite line? “And I’m lonely.”

    An imaginative and original take on the prompt.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. Well, Doug, I am a farm girl at heart. Although I lived in a city for 17 years of my adult life, I came back home; no one was able to take the country outta me! And, I love old trucks. Check out http://bit.ly/H3IVLc to see a painting I did of a 1952 Ford.
      As always, thanks for dropping by and commenting. Fun as always!

      1. Love the painting AND your story! I love old farm trucks too, just don’t know much about them. And would love it if I could convince that neighbor to sell that one to me. The glass is even pristine and the body is in good shape.

    1. Thanks, Sandra. I actually wrote two stories before this, but I wasn’t happy with them–not horrible, just not what I wanted. This came out on the third try.

    1. Ah, I’m glad you picked up on the title. I had a hard time finding one, but when that one came to me it was “aha! Yep, that’s it!” 🙂 Thanks for visiting and taking a moment to comment. Much appreciated!

    1. Thanks for commenting. I’m really glad you enjoyed the read. I will be reading yours very soon. Can’t wait!

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

