Prompt 100 WCGU: …I’m exhausted. Shut the door behind you…
100-word challenge


The bang startled everyone in the room. Slowly they looked at each other, wondering what was going on. James went to the front window. Nothing that he could see in the moonlight.

Ken returned from checking out the back porch. “Nothing there.”

Lindsey started up the stairs. “Zack is in bed. I’d better check on him.”

They’d forgotten about Zack. He’d retired early.

As Lindsey opened his bedroom door, he was pulling the covers over him.

“You all right?”

Sheepishly he grumbled, “I fell out of bed. I’m exhausted. Shut the door behind you.

Giggling, she shut the door.

***

10 thoughts on “It’s not just kids

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

