Hopes

“Mommy! Look! It’s a rainbow!”

“Yes, dear. I’m busy. I’ll look in a minute.”

“What does it mean?”

“I don’t know. It’s just the sun shining on the raindrops or something.”

“Oh. Our teacher said it was a symbol for hope and our connections to each other. She says maybe it’s a messenger between the earth and the sky.”

“Not really, dear. There’s a scientific explanation for the shape and the colors.”

“Grandpa’s up there, isn’t he? I think it’s a sign from Grandpa. Maybe he’s sending us a message.”

Mommy stopped to look.

A tear slid down her cheek.

***

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

