100-word Flash Fiction. #FridayFictioneers
A story inspired by this photo provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fieldsbjc3b6rn-15

It’s four o’clock in the morning. We are the last two musicians playing.

Shadows of souls flit across my vision.

The liquor is gone. The coffee pot is empty. Sandwich crumbs litter the floor. Smoke slithers across the room.

I’m hazy and giddy at the same time. My head swims in a fog of melodies and notes in four quarter time.

A broken string threatens to end the stream of musical consciousness.

Pain stabs through my hand. Blood oozes from my finger tips.

We laugh. We cry. We remember.

Tears stream down my face.

And still, we play on.

***

***

13 thoughts on “The wake

  1. this story draws me in, even though I don’t know exactly what’s happening. I liked “hazy and giddy at the same time” in particular, because it really made me think about those two words and how the feelings would (and wouldn’t) fit together

  2. Oh, I got this completely – it’s the wake after a funeral, and right at the end when the alcohol and food has gone, but they keep playing. A lovely idea, and beautifully written.

  3. “My head swims in a fog of melodies and notes in four quarter time.” Such a cool line. Plus “And still, we play on.” The timing/beat/rythm in this piece is mesmerizing.

  4. I think you portrayed well an occasion that everyone enjoyed and doesn’t want to end. I’m curious how you got the photo to be so light. Did you edit? Mine was so dark I had to look hard to see what was happening.

    janet

    1. Hi. Thanks for dropping by and for your feedback. Much appreciated. Yes, I adjusted the light in Picassa. It was very dark. Maybe the owner wanted it that way, but I just felt a need to lighten it a little.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

