What the hell do I know about writing?

So, I sit here early in the morning with my cuppa jo, reading some articles about writing. Creative writing. And I start to think… (that always gets me in trouble!)

I fancy myself a writer. In high school, English was my favorite class. I liked writing poems. I even had one published by my eighth-grade teacher in the teacher’s newsletter. It was a happy day! I liked writing short stories. Heck I even liked the grammar classes. What a nerd! At the end of eighth grade, my teacher made up a Certificate of Merit in English and the principal came to the classroom to present it to me. My teacher also gave me a book of poetry. Another happy day!

So what happened?

Life happened.

I pretty much gave up writing until I took up technical writing, followed by technical editing. After all, I had to put food on my table and gas in my car. These professions followed a degree in computer science.

“Computer science!” I hear you shouting.

I know. I was a right-brained creature in a left-brained creature’s world. What was I thinking? Well, you know. Food, gas, clothes, a roof over my head. Computer science paid the bills.

Anyway, now I’m trying to train my brain from the left-brained world back to a right-brained righter… erm… writer.

I’m finally working on a novel that I think is pretty good, a bit controversial perhaps, but with a touch of romance and a splash of adventure. A story that I hope will make people think as they enjoy the read.

And I have a lot of learning to do. There’s researching the time period, learning how to develop genuine characters, learning how to build a plausible original plot, and digging deep (really really deep) to get my imagination flowing again.

So, again, what the hell do I know about writing? Maybe not much, but I’m having buckets of fun and learning lots. And the best thing about learning is that the more I learn, the more I realize how much more I need to learn.

What a ride!

If you’d care to share your writing experiences and processes I’d love to hear about them, especially techniques for getting your imagination pumping. Let the discussion begin.

***

One thought on “What the hell do I know about writing?”

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

