Take me home

hollywood-crowd100-word Flash Fiction. #FridayFictioneers 

A story inspired by this photo provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


Smog and noise seemed to settle into every pore of my being. The evening heat and smell of hot bodies was stifling. Blisters burned my heels. I trudged the concrete feeling like a sleazy stalker.

I hated the city, but my friend was ecstatic to be here. She’d better appreciate that I’m doing this for her, I grumbled to myself.

“Where are all the stars?” she asked. “They promised stars! Let’s go this way. Maybe they’ll be down here?”

I looked up toward the sky. I saw only neon lights and a hazy orange glow.

Indeed, where are the stars?

***


FavoriteFridayFeedback2


Favorite Friday Feedback (F3) from last week’s #FF story goes to Sandra at http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/. She said, “They sound like a couple of old bickering cronies. Sweet.” She was the first person to “get” what I was writing about. Granted, the story didn’t start that way, but by the time I finished the first draft, I knew it was really about people. So, just a few tweaks and I was ready to publish. Funny how sometimes the story comes so easily and other time you agonize for(almost)ever.

Age is strictly a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter. —Jack Benny

Need a little eye candy to start your day? You might enjoy these photography posts:

 

14 thoughts on “Take me home”

  1. Dear Caerlynn,

    The stars are always there. Sometimes in life we put ourselves into places where they can’t be seen. That your story takes place in a town where we’ve replaced the real stars with transient luminaries is quite a nice touch. I love how your MC wrestles with herself as she tries to satisfy her friends needs. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. Yes, the stars are always up there in the sky. It’s just so lovely to see them regularly. Many city people don’t realize what the sky really looks like. It’s a shame. Thanks for reading. Glad you enjoyed my story this week.

  2. I think she and her friend have little in common with each other. But it’s nice that she’s prepared to take (for me) a nightmare trip for the sake of her pal. Thanks for the ping-back too. 🙂

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

