Creative Expressions #2: Tangled web

PCE1LogoWelcome to Week 2 of my creative challenge.

I invite you to join me.

Each week on Tuesday (as time permits), I’ll post a word, a phrase, a picture, or an idea that will constitute a prompt from which to write a poem, a flash fiction piece (not longer than 200 words), an original photograph, an original artwork, or a combination of these things that you think applies to the week’s theme.

SpiderWebInterpret the theme as you see fit. The only rules are that you be creative, be original, and have fun. Post your entry on your own blog and add your link to the InLinkz page (see little blue frog link below).

As with most challenges of this sort, I encourage you to provide feedback, respectful critiques, or general comments. Simple “Likes” are good too!

This week I’m offering an original photograph of a spider’s web on a maple tree. I’ve written a 100-word flash fiction piece. I hope you enjoy it.


 

Jack and Charlotte

Jack and Charlotte were constantly competing with each other. One autumn day, they decided to hold a contest to see who could create the best work of art in the forest.

Charlotte spent hours spinning her most intricate and delicate web, while Jack wielded his special favorite brush making exquisite, feathery strokes over all the leaves of the tiny oak – his finest masterpiece yet.

At dawn, the animals came to judge who created the best work of art.

Charlotte won.

“Oh, I will win,” Jack said quietly.

That night Jack painted exquisite feathery strokes over every segment of Charlotte’s web.

***

6 thoughts on “Creative Expressions #2: Tangled web”

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

