Creative Expressions #6: Fire and Ice

PCE1Logo

Welcome to the 6th edition of Pen’n’Tonic’s Creative Expressions challenge.

I’m back from holidays and vacation and ready to have some fun in 2015. Won’t you join me?

Each week on Tuesday (as time permits), I’ll post a word, a phrase, a picture, or an idea that will constitute a prompt from which to submit a poem, a flash fiction piece (not longer than 250 words), an original photograph, an original artwork, or a combination of these things that you think applies to the week’s theme.

Interpret the theme as you see fit. The only rules are that you be creative, be original, and have fun. Post your entry on your own blog and add your link to the InLinkz page (see little blue frog link below).

As with most challenges of this sort, I encourage you to provide feedback, respectful critiques, or general comments. Simple “Likes” are good too!

This week I challenge you to write a piece about contrasting concepts. Make up your own pair of words or choose one from my list:

  • fire and ice
  • fork and spoon
  • earth and sky
  • salt and pepper
  • light and dark
  • clean and dirty
  • left and right
  • love and hate
  • floor and ceiling
  • winter and summer

I’ve written a poem about fire and ice — and choices. I hope you enjoy it.
Happy (belated) New Year to you all.

Choices

Chaos singes the corners of my mind
I stand silent
In the cold shadows of fate
Frozen in this moment
I touched the ice
It burned me
Cold shivers flicker in my soul
I retreat
I know not which way to turn
If I turn right
I may freeze
Into blue crystals of ice
If I turn left
I may burn
In a white-hot flame
Not dead, but not alive
Melting in a puddle of time.

FireAndIce***

5 thoughts on “Creative Expressions #6: Fire and Ice”

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

