PCE1Logo

Welcome to the 7th edition of Pen’n’Tonic’s Creative Expressions challenge.

Join me… Let’s have some fun!

Each week on Tuesday (as time permits), I’ll post a word, a phrase, a picture, or an idea that will constitute a prompt from which to submit a poem, a flash fiction piece (not longer than 250 words), an original photograph, an original artwork, or a combination of these things that you think applies to the week’s theme.

Interpret the theme as you see fit. The only rules are that you be creative, be original, and have fun. Post your entry on your own blog and add your link to the InLinkz page (see little blue frog image below).

As with most challenges of this sort, I encourage you to provide feedback, respectful critiques, or general comments. Simple “Likes” are good too!

BalderdashThis week I challenge you (and I think it will be a real challenge!) to play the game of Balderdash with me. Have you ever played? The game provides cards, each with five categories. One category is Words. You have to make up a definition for the word. I’ve given you five words from the actual game from which to choose.

No cheating! Don’t look up the word before you start. Just think about the word and come up with your own definition — funny, serious, concrete, abstract — you choose. Then create your post using the guidelines above. I’ll give you the real definitions next week. Have fun!

  • Zebub
  • Stasivalent
  • Augerino
  • Zufolo
  • Carriwitchet

Zufolo

I chose the word Zufolo. It means “the sound that a flock of birds makes as it takes to the air.” Here is a an original photo that I took last fall, followed by a Haiku. Imagine the sound of all those birds taking flight at the same time.

That’s the sound of Zufolo!

Balderdash_Zufolo_7

Birds flocking in trees
Stirred by autumn, taking flight
Listen. Zufolo.

***

7 thoughts on “Creative Expressions #7: Balderdash

  1. I used to love playing balderdash. In fact I played a version of it at school. Though I made up the word I have to say…..I would say your definition of ‘zufolo’ sounds very believable to me.

  2. Zebub – a small dial on the end of a butchers cleaver used to regulate the sharpness of the blade
    Stasivalent – a controlling device used for regulating dance moves in a jar of honey.
    Augerino – see my blog
    Zufolo – a large warty growth on a dogs tail
    Carriwitchet – that object you know you have in your pocket which will solve the very issue that is bothering you

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

