Creative Expressions #8: The Crystal Bowl

PCE1Logo

Welcome to the 8th edition of Pen’n’Tonic’s Creative Expressions challenge.

Don’t just sit there! Have some fun with us!

Each week on Tuesday (as time permits), I’ll post a word, a phrase, a picture, or an idea that will constitute a prompt from which to submit a poem, a flash fiction piece (not longer than 250 words), an original photograph, an original artwork, or a combination of these things that you think applies to the week’s theme.

Interpret the theme as you see fit. The only rules are that you be creative, be original, and have fun. Post your entry on your own blog and add your link to the InLinkz page (see little blue frog image below).

As with most challenges of this sort, I encourage you to provide feedback, respectful critiques, or general comments. Simple “Likes” are good too!

Before I get to this week’s challenge, I owe you some definitions from last week’s challenge. Here they are:

  • Zebub: An Ethiopian fly whose bit can be fatal to cows.
  • Stasivalent: Sexually aroused in a standing position only.
  • Augerino: Giant mythical worm responsible for letting water out of canals.
  • Zufolo: A little flute used to teach birds tricks.
  • Carriwitchet: A puzzling question.

 

CrystalBowlAnd now for this week’s challenge. Use the following photograph to write a story of 100 to 150 words that ends with

…as the dust settled around the crystal bowl.


 

Captain Seiler’s bowl

I frantically tossed all manner of trinkets from the chest onto the attic floor.

I had to find it. It was a gold glass bowl. My brother said it was made special for our great-great-something grandfather back in 1743. Captain Joseph Seiler. He brought it from Germany on the Murdoch, which landed in Lunenburg Harbour in 1751.

I remembered the bowl from our childhood. Mother never let us touch it. It was special, she said. She kept it up on the mantel, far from little fingers. I hadn’t seen it in years.

I slammed the bowl into the corner. It wasn’t crystal at all. On the bottom was a sticker: Made in Taiwan.

Damn him! Another of his stupid pranks. I should have known. He delighted in the details, but I forgot — Joseph Seiler was no captain. I laughed hysterically as the dust settled around the crystal bowl.

***

9 thoughts on “Creative Expressions #8: The Crystal Bowl”

  1. Good one, Caerlynn, but oh how disappointing to find out it was a fake. I was expecting the dust to be settling around your brother for his prank 🙂

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

