#FF: Keep right

garden-maze100-word Flash Fiction. #FridayFictioneers 

A story inspired by this photo provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


“Betcha can’t find your way through the maze,” Tommy taunted.

“Can so,” said Sarah.

“Prove it.”

“Fine.”

Sarah stayed right just like Grandpa taught her. Keep right and you’ll always find your way. At the far corner, she realized she’d taken a wrong turn. She stopped, blinked, and tried to re-orient herself.

A brilliant beam of light startled her. Whorls of mist enveloped her. The maze quivered and swirled around her like fog curling through the garden on a warm spring morning. She wasn’t afraid.

“Grandpa?”

“It’s okay, little one.”

Taking her hand, he led her from the maze.

***


 FavoriteFridayFeedback2Favorite Friday Feedback (F3) from last week’s #FF story, Please call support, goes to Björn at http://brudberg.wordpress.com for reciprocating on the history lesson and telling me about the BESK. Some people hadn’t heard of an Eniac; I hadn’t heard of BESK. Nice to learn something new thing each day. Thanks, Björn.

Every person that you meet knows something you don’t; learn from them.
—H. Jackson Brown, Jr.


Looking for a new weekly challenge? Check out Creative Expressions. A new challenge is posted each Tuesday.

24 thoughts on “#FF: Keep right”

  1. Haha, I’ve always gone with Keep Left myself, but they work the same way and defeat most mazes. I like how Grandpa intervenes in person when she misses a step; if only the same could be true in real life, hey? I could use a “keep right” rule for negotiating that sometimes too.

    1. Ha. When I first wrote this I had “keep left,” but when I wrote the words “you’ll always find your way” I changed to “keep right.” It just seemed more apropros as to Grandpa giving advice. I’m glad you “got it.” Thanks for visiting. Glad you enjoyed the story.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

