Buried memories

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook
PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

100-word Flash Fiction
#FridayFictioneers

This week’s story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


“This is sad.” I said as I circled the blackened stump.

“Why? It’s just a tree.”

“No! My parents planted it the year I was born. Seventy-two years ago. Each of us kids had a tree planted somewhere on the farm to commemorate our birth. This was mine. Looks like lightning hit it.”

I screamed and nearly knocked Ian down.

“What?”

On hands and knees, I tore at grass and soil with my bare hands.

“I forgot! I buried a box under this tree when I was twelve.”

A tin cash box. I buried twelve things on my twelfth birthday.

***

25 thoughts on “Buried memories”

  1. There’s a catalpa tree at my parent’s house that Mom planted when I was just a baby. It survived the house burning down and several ice storms. Your story certainly hit home with me. Good one, Caerlynn.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

