Why, Billie?

ShoeOnGrateCEAyr
© C. E. Ayr

100-word Flash Fiction
#FridayFictioneers

This week’s story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

I’m back after taking a few weeks to write for NaNoWrMo. I made my 50,000 on Day 15, but I’m still writing until the end of the month just to see how far I can go. I wasn’t sure I could do it, but I did! Whoohoo! And now for my story… Enjoy!


 

“I had shoes like that once.”

“What did you do with them?”

“I threw them off the Tallahatchie Bridge.”

“Why?”

“I wore them every day until Billie jumped off that bridge.”

“But why throw your shoes into the water?”

“A remembrance, I guess. Billie loved those shoes. He liked that they made me taller and he didn’t have to bend as far to kiss me. He was over six feet tall, you know.”

“Why did he jump?”

“People have lots of theories, but no one knows. I don’t know. Some people speculated we tossed our baby, but that ain’t true.”

***

28 thoughts on “Why, Billie?”

      1. It is interesting what each picture makes us think of. When I am doing one of these challenges, I try to write about the first thing I think of. This was always a favorite of mine and I even had it on my iPod for a long time! OMG! How old am I????? 😛

      2. Ah, but, it’s a timeless song, so we’ll just pretend we heard it for the first time only a few years ago. 🙂
        I kind of do the same as you, and sometimes I write whatever first line comes into my head and that leads to something more. It’s definitely an interesting process sometimes.

      1. Aw… That’s too bad. There is still sometime! 😉
        I’m quite impressed with myself for doing it. It was a challenge, but a fun one. I guess being retired helps. Maybe you can plan for next year!

  1. Congrats on the NaNo accomplishment. I’m lucky to get 10,000 words a YEAR that I’m satisfied with.

    As for your story, I love the way you tied it into the song. Alas, you left us hanging. Perhaps we’ll never know what drove Billie to jump.

    1. I think the Billie’s secret went over the bridge with him.
      Thanks for the “nano congrats.” I am happy with what accomplished, although the point of 50,000 is to get a rough draft only, and that’s exactly what I have: a very rough draft. It was my first time and I wasn’t sure I could do it. The hard part (revisions) is still ahead of me.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

