#FF: Out of the shadows

emmylgant
© Emmy L. Gant

100-word Flash Fiction
#FridayFictioneers (#FF)

This week’s 100-word story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


“Hey Juice. Come ’ere and take a gander at this.”

“What?”

“Looks like leg bones.”

“Femurs, I’d say.”

“What, you a doctor now?”

“No, I just know a leg bone when I see one. Saw an X-ray of my dog once.”

“Oh.”

From deep in the shadows of the buildings came rustling and scratching.

“What was that?” Juice whispered.

Zeke shivered and grabbed Juice’s arm. “Dunno. Let’s get out of here.”

Juice grabbed the bag as they backed away from the evening darkness creeping across the asphalt.

“Somethings in there.”

“Nah. You’re hearing things.”

“Shit! No I’m not. RUN!”

***

22 thoughts on “#FF: Out of the shadows”

    1. Thanks. I almost ignored the bag (too obvious?) and went with something about the skyline, but I just couldn’t ignore those shadows, and that’s when I realized it looked kinda like bones in that bag. Glad you like my story. See you next time.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

