antiques-along-the-mohawk_sm
© Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

100-word Flash Fiction
#FridayFictioneers (#FF)

This week’s 100-word story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


Crys retrieved a chilled beverage from the cooler and pointed across the river. “Have you ever been in that shop?”

“Just once. Lots of interesting antiques and bits of junk. Why?”

“I’m thinking we should redecorate.”

Zeb tilted his head and glared at her over his sunglasses.

“Just kidding. I heard the owner sells his stuff rather grudgingly.”

“It’s true. I bought these chairs from him.”

“Really? Kinda ugly. Was he reluctant to sell these too?”

“Yup. Said they belonged to his granny. She sat right here every sunny day sipping sherry and watching the goings-on across the river.”

***

21 thoughts on “#FF: Yellow lawn chairs redux

  1. That’s either a sweet little bit of history he bought or a clever salesman upping the price 🙂
    Sounds like they’ve taken on Granny’s role sitting there with their drinks!
    Nice story!

  2. Hope she didn’t pay too much for the chairs. I reckon it’s a sales technique. But it would be rather lovely to think the chairs help them to enjoy drinks as Granny did. Lovely story!

    1. I alternated between the foreground and the background and ended up in the middle ground. The chairs just had to tell their story. 🙂 Glad you liked it. Thanks for visiting.

  3. I like old things. I have my grandfather’s tool box and old nail keg, and Grandma’s pickling crocks. They might not be used in the intended way, but I love them for their history. Your story reminded me of them, thanks.

    1. You’re very welcome. I think sometimes we need to strike a balance between collecting “stuff” and keeping special items for the good memories they bring to our lives. Thanks for reading. See you next time.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

