grey-day-with-pigeons-roger-bultot
© Roger Bultot

100-word Flash Fiction
#FridayFictioneers (#FF)

This week’s 100-word story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


Everywhere I go there they are. They’ve been following me for days. Why? I have no special colors, and I’m rather shy. I can build a pretty mean nest though and I do sing beautifully.

I admit, they are certainly attractive with their bright colors and kinda funny with all their flaunting and feather fluffing.

Ah, I get it. I’m the only female here.

So, who to choose. This little dude right next to me is pretty hot. Why is he facing that way when the rest of us are all facing this way?

I’ll choose him. I like different.

***

20 thoughts on “#FF: That spring thing

  1. I love the bird POV in this piece. Maybe he’ll be good at helping keep the eggs warm and feeding the babies. At least they won’t have to change diapers. 🙂

  2. Someone should tell her that different does not always work. But I like your different take on the prompt.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

