OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
© John Nixon

#FridayFictioneers (#FF)

This week’s 100-word story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


“Doesn’t she play beautifully?”

“Yes, I…”

“My son plays well too. He’s playing at Stanton Hall next Saturday. You should come.”

“I…”

“Oh. This is such a beautiful song. It always reminds me of my late husband and the time we spent in Paris.”

“Did you…”

“We had such a lovely time. He was such a romantic. Have you ever been to the Louvre?”

“Yes, actually…”

“I just love traveling. My friend and I are going on one of those river cruises next month.”

“Ah. That’s…” SighI think I’ll go now and stick my head under the piano hammers.

***

31 thoughts on “Listening skills? What listening…

    1. You’re right. Sometimes it’s better to just stay silent. Too many people are wrapped up in their own self-importance. Glad you liked my story this week. Thanks for dropping by.

    1. So true. Listening is a skill that many of us lack. We have so much going on inside our own heads that we don’t really “hear” what the other person is saying. Thanks for reading.

  1. I catch myself doing this while chatting with a friend sometimes. You caught the type of conversation perfectly. The only answer here is: freeze a smile on the face and nod in regular intervals.

  2. We’ve all been there, although I would be inclined to stick her head under the hammers, not my own. 🙂

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

