#FF: Something happened

© Vijaya Sundaram
© Vijaya Sundaram

#FridayFictioneers (#FF)

This week’s 100-word story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

I hope everyone had a great summer!


I’ve always hated fireworks.
Josef knew that, but he insisted I go with him.
“Come here. Hold my hand.”
The first explosion. I flinched.
The second explosion. I cringed and crushed his hand.
The third explosion. I jumped and ran from the oohing and aahing crowd.
Josef followed, yelling for me to come back. “It’s only fireworks.” He yelled after me.
If he only knew. If anyone only knew.
Thirty-three years and I can’t get that sound out of my head. The sight of blood. The screams.
The nightmares still haunt me regularly.
Maybe someday I’ll tell him.
Tell someone.
~~~

25 thoughts on “#FF: Something happened”

    1. So many possibilities. My first thoughts when I wrote this were that her parent/s were brutally murdered when she was a child. As I said to Ashley, when she tells me, I’ll let you know. 🙂 Thanks for reading.

  1. Greetings!
    Awesome story. Great pace thanks to tight and vivid action. I felt the tension from the first firework explosion. The comment immediately above where I’m typing uses the word haunting, and I think that’s a perfect description of how the story left me feeling. Haunted and anxious for her.
    Happy trails! 🙂

  2. The cause of her fear is intriguing, but I also like how you’ve shown her reluctance to reveal it. The relationship with Josef raises questions too – if he knows of her fear, why does he insist that she watch the fireworks? Fascinating scene.

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

