#FF: Nothin’ fancy

sewingmachine_sandracrook
© Sandra Crook

#FridayFictioneers (#FF)

This week’s 100-word story is inspired by this photograph provided by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.


Don’t know why they called it a Singer, ‘cause it sho’ wouldn’t sing for me. I jumbled up more outfits ‘n I care t’ remember. My fingers still got callouses from jammin’ ’em under the needle or tryin’ to pry out them balls of thread from a messy seam.

Ma could make it sing though. When we was little, she done beautiful clothes at the factory.

Worked long hours, she did, ‘n’ always come home tired. Never had much time for me and Jemmy, but we always had food on the table and, of course, decent clothes. Nothin’ fancy mind you.

~~~

26 thoughts on “#FF: Nothin’ fancy”

  1. Really enjoyed this, convincing voice, and a feel good tale. I remember those little balls of cotton that would accumulate on the underside of the seam… 😦

I love to hear from my readers! Don't be shy.

